3 Examples…

1.

Design as practice to optimize processes and avoid risks

Probably the best known health-promoting effect that design can have is to improve products, systems and processes to reduce errors and maximize safety. What is often described with keywords like “medical design” includes many approaches from fields like ergonomics, psychology, medical technology and many more.

2.

Design as a method for medical research & development

However, design also represents a certain form of solution development. It does not have to be applied to concrete products or by designers themselves. In terms of “Health Design Thinking”, the core premises of design itself can be applied in biomedical research (e.g. in the form of participatory processes). Here, design means using a system view, employing innovative and iterative processes and questioning existing ones.

3.

Design as a therapeutic agent

What initially appears to be a steep thesis is not a new insight. Creative measures (e.g. visual contact to the outside, choice of materials and light) have a direct effect on psychological and physical processes. Since the last century this has been increasingly scientifically investigated and applied in practice. Among other things, design can reduce symptoms, optimize recovery processes, promote social contacts and generally influence health behavior.

Design as therapy? An old story…

Healing Environments

“The effect in sickness of beautiful objects, of variety of objects, and especially of brilliancy of colour is hardly at all appreciated”

Nightingale (1859): Notes on Nursing.

Already in the middle of the 19th century, nurse Florence Nightingale was concerned with the central importance of design elements in the medical care of the sick. Her two books “Notes on Nursing” and “Notes on Hospitals” are early works in the field of design science, before this subject even existed. Your work gave rise to the concept of so-called “Healing Environments”, the idea that the environment itself can be health-promoting or even healing.

Messbare Effekte…?

In 1984 the psychologist Roger Ulrich published a groundbreaking study. Under the heading “View Through a Window May Influence Recovery from Surgery”, he explained his findings according to which patients after gallbladder surgery had a significantly better recovery process if their patient room had a window with a view of trees as opposed to those who had a view of a stone façade. This was the starting point for the scientific investigation of relationships between the design of our physical environment and health, from which so-called “evidence-based design” has developed.

“In summary, in comparison with the wall-view group, the patients with the tree view had shorter postoperative hospital stays, had fewer negative evaluatitive comments from nurses, took fewer moderate and strong analgesic doses, and had slightly lower scores for mion postsurgical complications.”

Ulrich, 1984, S. 421

Psychosocially-supportive Design

The results Ulrich found in his 1984 study cast a new light on architecture and design. This was followed a few years later by his “Theory of Supportive Design”. An approach that emphasizes the psychosocial supporting effect of design measures.

According to this, good design can reduce stress, promote social support, create positive distraction and many other effects that can have a positive impact on health. The central role of stress reduction is central to this. Design approaches can reduce the psychoneuroimmunological effects of stress by strengthening the subjective feeling of control, positive stimulation (e.g. through contact with nature) and avoidance of stressors (e.g. noise).

“By focusing on the concept of stress, a theory of supportive design can be developed that conceptualizes human impacts of design in ways that are related directly to scientifically credible indicators or interpretations of wellness.”

Ulrich, 1997, S. 99

Salutogenic Design

“The Salutogenic approach provides a basic theoretical framework for psychosocially supportive design, which can promote health and wellbeing.”

Dilani, 2009, S. 65

Based on the idea of a psychosocially supportive design, Alan Dilani developed the Salutogenic Design. As the name suggests, this design principle is derived from the health paradigm of salutogenesis. The concept developed by the medical sociologist Antonovsky tries to understand the connections between what creates and maintains health. As a complementary approach to the pathologically oriented search for pathogens and risk factors, salutogenesis is thus a resource-oriented approach. Dilani transferred this principle to the design. In the sense of salutogenesis, design aims to make the world understandable, manageable and meaningful.

Design also works in the invisible.

Evidence-based Design

The health-promoting effect of the design is not always directly evident – and sometimes even counter-intuitive. Evidence-based design (EBD) therefore represents a methodology that consistently uses scientific findings to inform and evaluate designs. Particularly in the medical context, it has been shown to have positive effects, for example on the rate of patient recovery. EBD does not mean to let science dictate design decisions, but to consider available findings as a design impulse and effective corrective.

0
… Publikationen listet das Center for Health Design in seinem Knowledge Repository aktuell auf.

erfahren Sie mehr…

Was ist biophilic Design?

Was versteht man unter “Active by Design”?

Wonach geht die research-driven Design Approach?

Methoden
Theorien
Ressourcen

3 Beispiele…

1.

Design als Praxis zur Optimierung von Abläufen und Vermeidung von Risiken

Wahrscheinlich die bekannteste gesundheitsfördernde Wirkung, die Design hervorrufen kann, ist die Verbesserung von Produkten, Systemen und Abläufen, um Fehler zu reduzieren und Sicherheit zu maximieren. Was häufig mit Stichwörtern wie „medical design“ beschrieben wird, beinhaltet viele Ansätze aus Feldern wie der Ergonomie, Psychologie, Medizintechnik und vielen weiteren.

2.

Design als Methode für die medizinische Forschung & Entwicklung

Design stellt aber auch eine bestimmte Form der Lösungsentwicklung dar. Sie muss nicht auf konkrete Produkte und auch nicht von DesignerInnen selbst angewendet werden. Im Sinne des „Health Design Thinking“ können die Kernprämissen des Designs selbst in der biomedizinischen Forschung (z.B. in Form von partizipativen Prozessen) eingesetzt werden. Design bedeutet hier, einen Systemblick zu nutzen, innovative und iterative Prozesse einzusetzten und bestehendes zu hinterfragen.

3.

Design als Therapeutikum

Was zunächst als steile These erscheint, ist keine neue Erkenntnisse. Gestalterische Maßnahmen (z.B. visueller Kontakt nach draußen, Materialwahl und Licht) wirken sich unmittelbar auf psychische und körperliche Prozesse aus. Seit dem vergangenen Jahrhundert wird dies zunehmend wissenschaftlich untersucht und praktisch angewendet. Design kann dabei unter anderem Symptome reduzieren, Genesungsverläufe optimieren, soziale Kontakte fördern und im allgemeinen das Gesundheitsverhalten beeinflussen.

Design als Therapie? Eine alte Geschichte…

Healing Environments

„The effect in sickness of beautiful objects, of variety of objects, and especially of brilliancy of colour is hardly at all appreciated“

Nightingale (1859): Notes on Nursing.

Bereits in der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts befasste sich die Krankenschwester Florence Nightingale mit der zentralen Bedeutung gestalterischer Elemente bei der medizinischen Versorgung von Kranken. Ihre beiden Bücher „Notes on Nursing“ und „Notes on Hospitals“ sind frühe designwissenschaftliche Arbeiten, bevor es dieses Fach überhaupt gab. Aus Ihrer Arbeit ging das Konzept der sogenannten „Healing Environments“ hervor, die Idee nämlich, dass die Umgebung selbst gesundheitsfördernd bzw. gar heilsam sein kann.

Messbare Effekte…?

1984 veröffentlichte der Psychologe Roger Ulrich eine bahnbrechende Studie. Unter der Überschrift „View Through a Window May Influence Recovery from Surgery“ erläuterte er seine Ergebnisse, laut denen Patienten nach einer Gallenblasenoperation einen signifikant besseren Genesungsverlauf hatten, wenn ihr Patientenzimmer ein Fenster mit Blick auf Bäume hatte im Gegensatz zu jenen, die einen Blick auf eine Steinfassade hatten. Dies war der Startschuss für die wissenschaftliche Untersuchung von Zusammenhängen zwischen der Gestaltung unserer physischen Umgebung und der Gesundheit, aus der sich auch das sogenannte „evidence-based Design“ entwickelt hat.

„In summary, in comparison with the wall-view group, the patients with the tree view had shorter postoperative hospital stays, had fewer negative evaluatitive comments from nurses, took fewer moderate and strong analgesic doses, and had slightly lower scores for mion postsurgical complications.“

Ulrich, 1984, S. 421

Psychosocially-supportive Design

Die Ergebnisse, die Ulrich in seiner Studie von 1984 fand, warfen ein neues Licht auf Architektur und Design. Es folgte einige Jahre später seine „Theory of Supportive Design“. Ein Ansatz, der die psychsozial unterstützende Wirkung gestalterischer Maßnahmen betont.

Demnach kann gute Gestaltung Stress reduzieren, soziale Unterstützung fördern, positive Ablenkung schaffen und viele weitere Effekte hervorrufen, die sich positiv auf die Gesundheit auswirken können. Zentral ist dabei die Rolle der Stressreduktion. Designansätze können etwa durch eine Stärkung des subjektiven Kontrollgefühls, positive Stimulation (z.B. durch Kontakte zur Natur) und Vermeidung von Stressoren (z.B. Lärm) die psychoneuroimmunologische Effekte des Stresses mindern.

„By focusing on the concept of stress, a theory of supportive design can be developed that conceptualizes human impacts of design in ways that are related directly to scientifically credible indicators or interpretations of wellness.“

Ulrich, 1997, S. 99

Salutogenic Design

„The Salutogenic approach provides a basic theoretical framework for psychosocially supportive design, which can promote health and wellbeing.“

Dilani, 2009, S. 65

Aufbauend auf der Idee eines psychosocially supportive Designs entwickelte Alan Dilani das Salutogenic Design. Wie der Name schon erahnen lässt, leitet sich dieses Designprinzip vom Gesundheitsparadigma der Salutogenese ab. Das vom Medizinsoziologen Antonovsky entwickelte Konzept versucht die Zusammenhänge zu verstehen, was Gesundheit schafft und erhält. Als ergänzenden Ansatz zur pathologisch orientierten Suche nach Krankheitserregern und Risikofaktoren, ist die Salutogense also ein ressourcen-orientierter Ansatz. Dieses Prinzip übertrug Dilani auf die Gestaltung. Dabei zielt das Design im Sinne der Salutogenese darauf ausgerichtet, die Welt verstehbar, handhabbar und sinnstiftend zu gestalten.

Design wirkt auch im Unsichtbaren.

Evidence-based Design

Die gesundheitsförderliche Wirkung der Gestaltung ist nicht immer direkt ersichtlich – und manchmal gar gegenintuitiv. Evidence-based Design (EBD) stellt daher eine Methodik dar, die konsequent wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse nutzt um Entwürfe zu informieren und zu evaluieren. Besonders im medizinischen Kontext konnten damit nachweislich postive Effekte etwa in Bezug auf die Genesungsrate von Patienten erzielt werden. EBD meint dabei nicht gestalterische Entscheidungen von der Wissenschaft diktieren zu lassen, sondern verfügbare Erkenntnisse als gestalterischen Impuls und effektives Korrektiv anzusehen.

0
… Publikationen listet das Center for Health Design in seinem Knowledge Repository aktuell auf.

erfahren Sie mehr…

Was ist biophilic Design?

Was versteht man unter „Active by Design“?

Wonach geht die research-driven Design Approach?

Blog

Podcast

Methodologie

Ressourcen